Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Nova Launcher and Sesame Search have been acquired by Branch, an analytics company
Information 
Quote:The popular home screen app for Android devices, Nova Launcher has been acquired by Branch Metrics, a company that specializes in analytics. Sesame Shortcuts, which supported integration with the launcher app, has also been acquired.

[Image: Nova-Launcher-home-screen-app.jpg]

While this may be good for funding the development of both apps, there could be some downsides to it.

I've been using Nova Launcher for close to 10 years, though my Google Play Store receipt for the Prime version is from 2015. It's the first app I install after a flashing a new ROM, or getting a new phone. When I bought the Redmi Note 10 Pro last year, I disliked the gestures in MIUI and found that Nova Launcher's own gestures were unusable because of limitations in Android 9+. But, I knew that Nova Launcher supported gestures by using some workarounds on Pixel devices, so I flashed a Pixel Experience ROM on my phone, to get the home screen app working on my mobile.

Nova Launcher and Sesame Search have been acquired by Branch

I think I have said enough, I'm clearly a fan of the app. But, I have to put my bias aside, and ask what would an analytics company want with the app?

TeslaCoil Software has promised that the core user experience including the user's privacy will remain the same, and any changes made to the app will be optional. You can't expect a company  to just acquire an app's rights, and let it continue in its existing state, would you? What's the point of it, if they don't get anything out of it?

[Image: Nova-Launcher-and-Sesame-Search-have-bee...ompany.png]